A Thinking Dog: part 3

Sugar, always assessing...

Thinking dog, Sugar, always assessing…

It stands to reason that a “thinking dog” is the best kind of dog, right?  I can admit it.  I am pretty great, but being incredibly intelligent doesn’t always work in my favor.  I am constantly observing and assessing what is going on with my humans and around me (I am part Border collie – it’s my job to think a few steps ahead).  I also pay very close attention to everything in my environment (birds, squirrels, leaves falling, butterflies & other insects, other dogs, neighborhood cats, rain…you name it) and sometimes I am so alert, I have a hard time turning my thinking-dog brain off which makes it hard to be “dogosophical“.

As a thinking dog, I have also learned to anticipate certain situations.  Guardian starts putting on makeup & shoes…she’s leaving soon.  (In my world, that’s not all bad, we dogs get the house all to ourselves and that annoyance of a new dog is still in his crate – I love that).

One of the hardest things for me is a car trip!  The humans act like this is the greatest thing in the world.

where oh where are we headed this time?

where oh where are we headed this time?

This may start out as a fun outing, but usually ends up in me being poked & prodded by someone I barely know; sometimes we get left for days at a time with a slew of other dogs in a house I’m not familiar with (how in the world can I protect my humans if they aren’t even around???) and on some occasions, I simply end up getting a bath and a haircut.  At least the latter is generally followed by new toys or treats.  Why oh why do the humans feel the need to torture a thinking dog with car rides?  My guardian keeps treats in the car and sometimes takes me on trips that go nowhere – Honestly, we just ride around then head home again.  This helps, but I am still a thinking dog who is just waiting for the next unpleasant excursion.

OH – and the poking and prodding place, often the car trips still lead me there.   I sniff the same smells and see the same people, but at times, guardian has turned these occassions into a treat session!   I certainly got the leg up on this one…who knew I could train the guardian to take me out for an afternoon snack?  I’m really learning to love that place (despite the white coats & scrubs).  So glad to be a thinking dog!

Really learning to LOVE this place!

A little nervous, but slowly learning to LOVE this place!

Because I am a thinking dog, I can also be a very anxious, somewhat-reactive dog.  This can make life “ruff” for me and my humans.   For instance, I used to pull ahead while on the leash…dogs to see, squirrels to chase, you know the drill.  My guardian sought the help of a professional and was told to use a new collar (this was long before she was “trained” herself).  You may have seen other dogs on this kind of collar; it is called a “Pinch” or “Prong”  collar  and let me tell you, the name fits!  When I would get excited to go toward another dog – OUCH!   The more I excited I was about visiting, the more it hurt!  I started barking, growling and lunging every time I saw another dog (as soon as one was in sight – YOWZA!) Totally not cool!  (Combined_Punishment_Statements)  Oh, those darn dogs…they were becoming less rewarding each day until at last, I had it and finally had the opportunity to let another dog know what all these canines had been doing to me and I bit him!  Hard!  Guardian was mortified so she stopped walking me regularly.  I lost my connection to the outside world and had to mentally survive on the stories Dino would tell me about his visits.  Thankfully my guardian came home one day with a new harness instead.  A “front clasp” harness!  What kind of contraption was she trying now?   She strapped it on and I was nervous at first (have I mentioned that I am a thinking dog?).  Hmmmm…so I thought about this.  There was no pain – it clipped in the front so if I got too excited and pulled, I turned around to face my guardian.  I’ve figured it out and by Dog – I think I’ve got it!  If another dog is coming – I may pull, but harness leads me to face guardian without going “postal”, then I get a treat (well, the postman is another story).  It’s that simple.  Dogs = treats, not pain!  After all, I am a thinking dog!  After just a few months with this, I am able to happily greet other dogs again!

The only thing that still consistently works against my thinking dog brain is a thunderstorm.  I haven’t figured out how to work that one yet.  When one hits, I freak out!  Guardian puts  a snuggly vest on me…sometimes I get a bit of peanut butter (with an odd-tasting bit of crunch in the middle) and it makes me sleepy.  My favorite spot to find sanctuary is in guardians’ closet.  I am surrounded by their smell, there is soft carpet on the floor and it is a dark and cozy spot where the terrible sounds are dulled and not so frightening.

My guardian often says “a tired dog is a good dog”.  I’m not sure what she means by that, but I do love the stimulating toys, long walks or running along with the bike and good solid training time.  Guardian knows I am a thinking dog (not like those other two that reside with us) and she works with it – with me.  Rather than getting frustrated at my barking alertness, or my anxiety, she keeps me busy and gives me fun things to contemplate which helps my “thinking brain” rest when I need it.  I can relax after a session with guardian and honestly, when she works with any of us dogs it is the best, most rewarding experience in the world.  She looks us in the eye, we get treats, praise in that sweet loving voice, and loads of hands-on attention.  Kym_Sugar

Humans are an odd lot – at times they don’t seem to think much, but when you find a good family they can be the most rewarding thing in the world.  If I play my cards right, this thinking dog will continue to help guardian truly help other thinking dogs like me!

Leave a Reply

